The Gawain-Poet

Ad Putter

Editura: Longman
The late 14th century produced a crop of brilliant writers: Chaucer, Langland and Gower. Their achievement was rivalled only by a series of four works generally agreed to have been written by a single northern author, known as the Gawain-Poet. This book introduces the reader to the Gawain-poet's four surviving works: Sir Gawain and the Green Knight, Patience, Pearl and Cleanness. The four poems are made accessible to the student by setting them in their relevant historical and cultural context and by developing some lines of critical argument. All studies are based on the author's own research and translations.
  • Limba : Engleza
  • Cuprins : Preface
    Note on References and Abbreviations

    1. The Gawain- Poet in Context. Introduction
    The Poet's Reading.
    The Poet's way of Reading.
    The Poet in the Text: A humble cleric.
    The Poet in the Text: A Court-Poet.
    Dialect and Metre: The Gawain-Poet's Remoteness.
    A Historical Context for Alliterative Poetry.

    2. Sir Gawain and the Green Knight. Introduction
    Romance and Realism.
    Plot-telling and the Manipulation of Memor.

    3. Patience. Introduction
    Suffrance in the Prologue.
    The Gawain-Poet as a reader of the Bible.
    Dramatic Irony in the Story of Jonah.
    God and Man.
    From Revelation to Trust.

    4. Pearl. Introduction
    Making Heaven Strange: The Description of Heaven.
    Reason and revelation: The Debate about Heaven.
    The Unkindness of Heaven.
    Patience and Protest in the Epilogue.

    5. Cleanness. Introduction
    Uncleanness and the Confusion of Kinds.
    Imitating God.
    The Beaut
  • Data Publicarii : 1996
  • Editie : 1
  • Format : Paperback
  • Numar pagini : 272
  • ISBN : 9780582225749
222.99 Lei

Transport gratuit prin curier la orice comandă de peste 150 de lei. Doar 14,99 lei în rest.  Vezi detalii

Goodreads reviews